Picture interpretation: Frank Zappa – Bobby Brown

September 25, 2007 at 8:23 am 6 comments

In our course we had to choose a song which refers to the American Dream with pictures linked to each aspect of the song text interpretating this term.

I published “Frank Zappa – Bobby Brown” and added links to certain words or terms.

Frank Zappa – Bobby Brown

Hey there, people, I’m bobby brown
They say I’m the cutest boy in town
My car is fast, my teeth is shiney

I tell all the girls they can kiss my heinie
Here I am at a famous school
Im dressin’ sharp n I’m Actin cool
I got a cheerleader here wants to help with my paper
Let her do all the work n maybe later Ill rape her

Oh God I am the american dream
I do not think I’m too extreme
An I’m a handsome son-of-a-bitch
Im gonna get a good job ‘n be real rich(get a good
Get a good
Get a good
Get a good job)

Womens liberation
Came creepin’ across the nation

I tell you people I was not ready
When I fucked this dyke by the name of freddie
She made a little speech then,
Aw, she tried to make me say when
She had my balls in a vice, but she left the dick
I guess its still hooked on, but now it shoots too quick

Oh God I am the american dream
But now I smell like vaseline
An I’m a miserable sonofabitch
Am I a boy or a lady…i don’t know which (I wonder wonder
Wonder wonder)

So I went out n bought me a leisure suit
I jingle my change, but Im still kinda cute
Got a job doin’ radio promo

An none of the jocks can even tell Im a homo
Eventually me ‘n a friend
Sorta drifted along into s&m
I can take about an hour on the tower of power
long as I gets a little golden shower

Oh God I am the american dream
With a spindle up my butt till it makes me scream

An Ill do anything to get ahead
I lay awake nights sayin’, thank you, fred!
Oh god, oh god, I’m so fantastic!
Thanks to freddie, I’m a sexual spastic
And my name is bobby brown
Watch me now, I’m goin down,
And my name is bobby brown
Watch me now, I’m goin down, etc.

Vocabulary:

  • heinie – der Hintern/Arsch
  • sharp – schick, schrill, elegant
  • creeping – schleichend
  • dyke – hier: Lesbe
  • vice – hier: Schraubzwinge
  • dick – hier: Penis
  • vaseline – Gleitmittel
  • leisure suit – Freizeitanzug

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What can I use a blog for? Assignment concerning the Vietnam War

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. muenchen74  |  September 25, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Hello David,

    basically a good start (pics, vocabs), but what about the rest of the song?!

    Cheers, K. Münch

    Reply
  • 2. naehm  |  September 25, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    it will be finished today 😉 that’s my work this afternoon!

    Reply
  • 3. choyle  |  September 25, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    very interesting song…nähm…

    Reply
  • 4. Sophie  |  September 26, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Yes, that is indeed a very interesting song but I like Frank Zappa. I think you’ve chosen your pics in a similar way like Eike and I did. Maybe they are a little bit too “inadequate”, as Onno would say;-) But I like this interpretation.

    Reply
  • 5. timmiteinemm  |  October 8, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Hey, what’s that for a colloquial nonsense?
    I open your page and have to read naff words… David, David, David, tzzz

    Btw, nice song and very cunning to use hyperlinks 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. More on Frank Zappa - Bobby Brown « Naehm’s Weblog  |  October 15, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    […] Have a look to the picture interpretation […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts